Honors and Awards

Professor Lustig is among Recipients of the Tulane Innovation Award
November 4, 2021

The recipients of the Innovation Award — selected by Tulane Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Robin Forman — were Tony Hu, Tanika Kelly and Nora Lustig. The award recognizes scholars who develop and explore novel ideas, approaches and insights to address societal challenges.

Read more about Professor Lustig’s the award and career trajectory here.

ECINEQ appoints Professor Lustig as President-elect
July 9, 2021

The General Assembly of the Society for the Study of Economic Inequality (ECINEQ) appointed Nora Lustig as President-elect of the organization. Founded in 2005, ECINEQ provides an international forum for all researchers interested in the analysis of economic inequality and related fields. ECINEQ has now over 300 members from more than seventy countries. Professor Lustig is the first woman President-elect. Her term is for the period 2023-2025. Thomas Piketty is the past president and Stephen Jenkins is the current one.

LACEA honors Professor Lustig with the title of President Emerita
November 10, 2017

Professor Lustig posing with her LACEA President Emerita plaque in hand.

On the occasion of the 25th Anniversary of the Latin American and Caribbean Economic Association, LACEA, Professor Lustig received the title of President Emerita in recognition of her role in the creation of the Association and her strong leadership and unwavering support. The award ceremony took place on November 10, 2017 in Lustig’s native city of Buenos Aires. Lustig concluded her reception speech by urging the audience, particularly women economists, to “Never receive a ‘No’ for an answer. Dream on.”

Read the official announcement here.







Professor Lustig receives Schloss Prize for Economics
September 30, 2016

Professor Lustig, 2016 recipient of Schloss Prize for Excellence in Economics

Tulane University’s Department of Economics is proud of Professor Lustig’s many accomplishments. The Department’s selection committee (Alan Barreca, Doug Harris, Jon Pritchett, and James Alm) was unanimous in recommending that Lustig be the 2016 recipient of the Lawrence M. v. D. Schloss Prize for Excellence in Economics.

Read the official announcement here.
Read the Tulane news article here.